Understanding the Pyramid of Healthy Food (Balanced Nutrition)

What is meant by Nutrition according to Indonesian dictionary is the staple food necessary for growth and body health. Nutritional intake or adequate nutrition is an important thing in maintaining a healthy body to live more productively and protected from various diseases.

It says “Adequate Nutrition” because the intake should not be less than the needs or exceed the needs of our bodies. Lack of Nutrition will cause the body more susceptible to disease due to decreased endurance while excessive nutrient intake will cause the risk of disease such as high blood, heart attack, stroke and diabetes. Therefore, the need to balance in consuming Nutrition is usually called Balanced Nutrition which is visualized as a form of Pyramid.

Balanced Nutrition is usually described by the form of Food Pyramid is a daily diet that contains nutrients in types and quantities appropriate to the needs of the body, taking into account the principle of diversity or variation of food, physical activity, hygiene and ideal body weight such mcfol.org.

Depth in Food Pyramid

Food Pyramid Indonesia version consists of 5 levels of food and drink according to the needs of the human body and 1 Level of healthy life foundation such as regular exercise and maintaining ideal body weight. Here is a picture of Food Pyramid to maintain the balance of Nutrition needed by our body.

First Level

The first level or basic level is in a healthy food pyramid is to maintain ideal body weight and exercise routine. Both of these elements greatly affect the quality of our healthy life. One of the reasons for the importance of sports is to use the simple rules as below:

“Weight Changes equal to Incoming Calories minus Exit Calories”

With exercise we can burn the calories we consume and keep the body in the ideal weight. Eating more than it burns will lead to fat and weight gain resulting in overweight related diseases.

Second Level

Water holds a very important role in the human body. In the human body, water serves as the builder of cells and body fluids, regulators of body temperature, solvents of other nutrients and as aids in the process of digestion. In one day, our bodies need 8 glasses of water or the equivalent of 2 liters of water.

Third Level

The third level is foods that are a source of high carbohydrates such as Rice, Potatoes, Bread, Biscuits, Corn and Ubi. These foods are usually called staple foods that are usually consumed 3 to 8 servings a day.

Level Four

The fourth level of the Food Pyramid is the vegetables and fruits that are the source of fiber, vitamins and minerals. Vegetables should be consumed from 3 to 5 servings while fruits can be consumed 2 to 3 servings a day.

Fifth Level

The fifth level are foods that are a good source of protein both vegetable protein and animal protein. Vegetable protein is a protein derived from plants such as nuts and processed foods (tempeh, tofu). While Protein Hewani is Protein derived from animals such as beef, fish, chicken, eggs and dairy products. Protein foods (vegetable and animal) should be consumed 2 to 3 servings each day.
Highest Level (Peak)

Highest level or Peak position are foods whose level of consumption should be limited. This is because the level of need for these foods is very low. These foods include Salt, Sugar and Oil.